All senses should be used for learning.

Christine Blaser, VET specialist, manages the school-based education area at KoKoTé and uses all the senses to design the learning content.

Christine Blaser is a trained teacher and, as a vocational training specialist at KoKoTé, is responsible for the school education (catch-up training) of refugees.


Interview:


How did you come to JLT Company/KoKoTé?


KoKoTé founder Franz Huber and I already knew each other from my work for the vocational and further education centre in the bridge programme in Uri. Even then we saw that there was a need for vocational training for adult refugees. I had been working in this field for a long time before and was able to gain a lot of experience as a teacher in literacy training for German-speaking adults. By chance, Franz and I met again and he was then able to convince me right away of his idea of the JLT Company/KoKoTé.

How are the refugees trained at JLT Company/KoKoTé?


The refugees come to my school one day a week. Recently we have divided this into two half days, because most of them are not used to working with their heads. They all prefer to work with their hands, so learning works better in the workshop than in school. The main thing at school is to learn German and reach a certain level so that they can continue their vocational training after their internship, intermediate year or pre-apprenticeship. Many refugees do not understand Swiss German and therefore remain among themselves where they only speak their mother tongue. With us, they get the opportunity to speak and learn written language. But very often we also discuss questions about everyday life in Switzerland: What does it mean to live in Switzerland? What are rights and duties? How does the separation of church and state work? How do I dispose of waste properly? Why is it important to keep to an agreed time? In this way, we can help them integrate into everyday life in Switzerland.

What does a school day look like for you?


We are all in one room and wear masks at the moment. I'm glad we can keep the school running on site. We don't do a lot of exercises together because everyone is at a different level and is not used to teamwork in learning. But after the holidays, for example, I ask questions so we can exchange ideas. The difficulties are the same for most of them: O, A, E and I are difficult. The ear is trained differently. Most of the refugees come from the Arab world and have completely different and often more letters than we do and, when they have learned to write, it is from right to left. They are also used to learning by heart rather than applying what they have learned. This is one of the biggest challenges. We have good teaching materials and apps with exercises that they can do on their own. I support them where necessary. For me, it is especially important that all senses are used for learning. Hearing, touching, seeing, writing. That way they also find out how they learn best.

What special challenges do you face when working with adults from other cultures?


The biggest challenges are already cultural. They know "learning" differently, they have to adapt to our system. There are also many misunderstandings. But they are often funny. Someone once didn't understand why I live alone as a mother. In his culture, no one lives alone, especially not a woman. You are always very closely integrated into the family. He also didn't understand that I WANT to live alone. Besides, they only accept my authority because I am an older woman. A younger woman could probably not run the school because she would not be accepted by the Muslim men. Other challenges I already knew from many years of experience in adult education. Adults generally learn more slowly, it takes a lot of time and patience. And flexibility. Sometimes I come with a basket full of prepared things and then a question comes and we spend the whole half day at school on it.

What are you most proud of in your work for KoKoTé so far?


Ali's
success (Ali Ghorbani completed the best LAP of his Swiss class, even 20Minuten reported about it on the front page)! I accompanied and supported him closely from the beginning. He was very ambitious, otherwise he wouldn't have come so far. It is very important to us that the refugees and learners come of their own accord, are motivated and get what they need. Not that they sit back and wait until we take over everything for them. This is how great successes are possible, like Ali's.

Shop
Association Equilibre Portraits Christine
Fragezeichen ocker

Adults generally learn more slowly,

it takes a lot of time, patience and flexibility.

Christine Blaser - Vocational Training Specialist Association Equilibre

Fragezeichen Schwarz

Refugees are trained at KoKoTé,

so that they have a better entry into the Swiss labour market.

The main focus of the education days is on learning German and mathematics. Since learning and practising the German language is central, each refugee receives a mentor during the internship, an intermediate year or the pre-apprenticeship.

At KoKoTé, refugees receive 2 days of education and self-learning per week. Of these, 2 half-days are lessons in German, mathematics and general education, taught by the vocational training specialist Christine Blaser; 1 half-day involves self-learning under professional guidance with "Rosetta Stone". Their mentor accompanies them with homework. In addition, there is at least 1 hour a day of learning German while working. To ensure that everyone understands each other, the language used is German.

Fragezeichen Rot Fxb 0929
Fragezeichen Rot Fxb 0004 col
Fragezeichen ocker

The professional and personal education

in everyday working life is constantly being expanded.

Every 3-4 months, an interview is conducted and documented with each refugee. In addition to the refugee, the teacher and the head of production are also involved and, if necessary, the job coach/case manager.


The teacher keeps a dossier for each trainee, which contains the documentation of the interviews, the language and aptitude tests as well as further information on the educational potential and the previous professional knowledge and special skills of each trainee.

Fragezeichen Schwarz

The central goal of KoKoTé is,

to make the adult refugees (>26 years) as fit as possible in terms of education.

To achieve this goal, catch-up education is planned and realised and knowledge and experience in the world of work are gained. Furthermore, the achievement of the goals requires that the refugees reach a certain language level (language test at the beginning/end of the internship).

This is important in order to obtain a follow-up solution after the basic internship in the form of an intermediate year, a pre-apprenticeship or an EFZ/EBA apprenticeship. The follow-up measures - intermediate year and pre-apprenticeship - are possible in combination with part-time employment as a seamstress or seamstress. This gives the older refugees the chance to catch up on their schooling over 2-3 years and become fit for vocational training.

Fragezeichen Rot Fxb 6717

Zum Lernen sollen alle Sinne verwendet werden.

Christine Blaser, Berufsbildungsfachfrau, führt bei KoKoTé den schulischen Bildungsbereich und nutzt alle Sinne für die Gestaltung des Lerninhaltes.

Christine Blaser ist ausgebildete Lehrerin und bei KoKoTé als Berufsbildungsfachfrau für die schulische Bildung (Nachholbildung) der Flüchtlinge zuständig.

Inteview:

Wie bist du zur JLT Company/KoKoTé gekommen?

KoKoTé-Gründer Franz Huber und ich kannten uns schon von meiner Tätigkeit für das Berufs- und Weiterbildungszentrum im Brückenangebot in Uri. Schon damals sahen wir, dass ein Bedarf für die Berufsbildung erwachsener Flüchtlinge besteht. Ich war schon lange vorher in diesem Gebiet tätig und konnte als Lehrperson viel Erfahrung in der Alphabetisierung von deutschsprachigen Erwachsenen sammeln. Durch Zufall sind Franz und ich uns wieder begegnet und er konnte mich dann gleich von seiner Idee der JLT Company/KoKoTé überzeugen.

Wie werden die Flüchtlinge bei JLT Company/KoKoTé ausgebildet?

Die Flüchtlinge kommen einen Tag pro Woche zu mir in die Schule. Neuerdings haben wir diesen in zwei halbe Tage aufgeteilt, da sich die meisten Kopfarbeit nicht gewohnt sind. Alle arbeiten lieber mit den Händen, so funktioniert das Lernen auch in der Manufaktur besser als in der Schule. Hauptsächlich geht es in der Schule darum, Deutsch zu lernen und ein gewisses Niveau zu erreichen, so dass sie ihre Berufsbildung nach ihrem Praktikum, dem Zwischenjahr oder der Vorlehre weiterführen können. Viele Flüchtlinge verstehen Schweizerdeutsch nicht und bleiben darum unter sich, wo sie nur ihre Muttersprache sprechen. Bei uns erhalten sie die Gelegenheit, Schriftsprache zu sprechen und zu lernen. Sehr oft besprechen wir aber auch Fragen aus dem Schweizer Alltag: Was heisst es, in der Schweiz zu leben? Was sind Rechte und Pflichten? Wie funktioniert die Trennung von Kirche und Staat? Wie entsorge ich Abfall richtig? Wieso ist es wichtig, eine abgemachte Zeit einzuhalten? So können wir sie bei der Integration in den Schweizer Alltag unterstützen.

Wie sieht ein Schultag bei euch aus?

Wir sind alle in einem Zimmer und tragen momentan Masken. Ich bin froh, können wir den Schulbetrieb vor Ort aufrechterhalten. Wir machen wenig gemeinsame Übungen, da alle auf einem anderen Niveau sind und sich Teamarbeit beim Lernen nicht gewohnt sind. Aber nach den Ferien zum Beispiel stelle ich Fragen, so dass wir uns austauschen können. Die Schwierigkeiten sind bei den meisten die gleichen: O, A, E und I sind schwierig. Das Ohr ist anders geschult. Die meisten Flüchtlinge kommen aus dem arabischen Raum und haben ganz andere und oft mehr Buchstaben als wir und, wenn sie schreiben gelernt haben, dann von rechts gegen links. Sie sind sich ausserdem vor allem gewohnt auswendig zu lernen und nicht, Gelerntes anzuwenden. Das ist eine der grössten Herausforderungen. Wir haben gute Lehrmittel und Apps mit Übungen, die sie selbständig lösen können. Ich unterstütze wo nötig. Mir ist es vor allem wichtig, dass zum Lernen alle Sinne verwendet werden. Hören, Tasten, Sehen, Schreiben. So finden sie auch heraus, wie sie am besten lernen.

Welche besonderen Herausforderungen stellen sich dir in der Zusammenarbeit mit Erwachsenen aus anderen Kulturen?

Die grössten Herausforderungen sind schon kultureller Natur. Sie kennen "Lernen" anders, müssen sich auf unser System einstellen. Es gibt auch viele Missverständnisse. Die sind aber oft auch witzig. Jemand verstand einmal nicht, wieso ich als Mutter alleine lebe. In seiner Kultur lebt niemand allein, schon gar nicht eine Frau. Man ist immer sehr eng in die Familie eingebunden. Er verstand auch gar nicht, dass ich allein leben MÖCHTE. Ausserdem akzeptieren sie meine Autorität nur, weil ich eine ältere Frau bin. Eine jüngere Frau könnte wohl die Schule nicht leiten, da sie nicht akzeptiert würde von den muslimischen Männern. Weitere Herausforderungen kannte ich bereits aus der langjährigen Erfahrung in Erwachsenenbildung. Erwachsene lernen generell langsamer, es braucht sehr viel Zeit und Geduld. Und Flexibilität. Manchmal komme ich mit einem Korb voll vorbereiteter Sachen und dann kommt eine Frage und wir verbringen den ganzen Schulhalbtag damit.

Worauf bist du besonders stolz in der bisherigen Tätigkeit für KoKoTé?

Auf den Erfolg von Ali (Ali Ghorbani hat die beste LAP seiner Schweizer Klasse absolviert, sogar 20Minuten hat auf der Titelseite darüber berichtet)! Ich habe ihn von Beginn weg eng begleitet und unterstützt. Er war sehr ehrgeizig, sonst wäre er nicht so weit gekommen. Uns ist sehr wichtig, dass die Flüchtlinge und Lernenden von sich aus kommen, motiviert sind und holen, was sie brauchen. Nicht, dass sie sich zurücklehnen und warten, bis wir alles übernehmen für sie. So sind grosse Erfolge möglich, wie ebendieser von Ali.


Shop
Association Equilibre Portraits Christine
Fragezeichen ocker

Erwachsene lernen generell langsamer,

es braucht sehr viel Zeit, Geduld und Flexibilität.

Christine Blaser - Berufsbildungsfachfrau Association Equilibre

Fragezeichen Schwarz

Bei KoKoTé werden Flüchtlinge ausgebildet,

so dass sie einen besseren Einstieg in den Schweizer Arbeitsmarkt ehrhalten.

An den Bildungstagen wird vor allem Deutsch und Mathematik gelernt. Da das Erlernen und Praktizieren der deutschen Sprache zentral ist, erhält jeder Flüchtling während dem Praktikum, einem Zwischenjahr oder der Vorlehre einen Mentor bzw. eine Mentorin.

Bei KoKoTé erhalten die Flüchtlinge 2 Tage Bildung und Selbstlernen pro Woche. Davon sind 2 Halbtage Unterricht in Deutsch, Mathematik und Allgemeinbildung, vermittelt durch die Berufsbildungsfachfrau Christine Blaser; 1 Halbtag beinhaltet Selbstlernen unter professioneller Begleitung mit «Rosetta Stone». Ihr Mentor/-in begleitet sie bei Hausaufgaben. Zusätzlich gibt es täglich mindestens 1 Stunde, in der, während der Arbeit, Deutsch gelernt wird. Damit alle einander verstehen ist die Umgangssprache Deutsch.

Fragezeichen Rot Fxb 0929
Fragezeichen Rot Fxb 0004 col
Fragezeichen ocker

Die fachliche und persönliche Bildung

im Arbeitsalltag wird stetig ausgebaut.

Alle 3-4 Monate wird mit jedem Flüchtling ein Standortge­spräch geführt und doku­mentiert. Involviert sind neben dem Flüchtling die Lehrerin sowie die Leiterin Produktion und falls dies nötig ist auch noch der Jobcoach / Casemanager.

Die Lehrerin führt für jeden Auszubildenden ein Dossier, welches die Dokumentation der Standort­gespräche, die Sprach- und Eignungstests sowie weitere Infos zum Bildungspotenzial und zu den beruflichen Vor­kenntnissen und besonderen Fähigkeiten pro Praktikant/-in enthält.

Fragezeichen Schwarz

Zentrales Ziel bei KoKoTé ist,

die erwachsenen Flüchtlinge (>als 26 Jahre) bildungsmäs­sig möglichst fit zu machen.

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen wird Nachholbildung geplant und realisiert sowie Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen in der Ar­beitswelt gewonnen. Im Weiteren bedingt das Erreichen der Ziele, dass die Flüchtlinge ein bestimmtes Sprachniveau (Sprach­test zu Beginn/Ende des Praktikums) erreichen.

Dies ist wichtig, um nach dem Grundlagenprakti­kum eine Anschlusslösung in Form eines Zwischenjahres, einer Vorlehre oder ei­ner EFZ/EBA-Ausbildung zu erlangen. Die Anschlussmassnahmen - Zwischenjahr und Vorlehre - sind in Kombination mit einer Teilzeitanstellung als Näher oder Näherin möglich. Dies gibt den älteren Flüchtlingen die Chance, über 2-3 Jahre, ihre schulischen Lücken aufzuholen und fit für eine Berufsausbildung zu werden.

Fragezeichen Rot Fxb 6717